Honda Twins banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
From this....

to this........

As you can see, I'm just getting started on this. Looked for a project for years before stumbling on this at yard sale. Good title, $100. Plan is to rebuild into sort of a cafe/bobber. Long term project, I'm in no hurry. Got an HD dresser for everyday riding. Next step is to start shaving the frame of all those tabs and brackets I won't be using. Already ordered bronze swingarm bushings. Plan on tapered rollers in the neck. Already pulled all the bearing races. Clubman bars. 4.00x18s front and rear. Feel free to post any tip, tricks, part #s, suggestions. Looking for a suggestion on rear shocks, mine are rusty. Would also like to go a little shorter.

·
Premium Member
667 Posts
A CL450 was my first bike. Good luck with the project and have fun. Would you want to sell the luggage rack that was on the bike when you got it? I think it might fit my CB500T daily rider.
Don

·
Registered
9 Posts
Wow, phenomenal find dude!
$100 for a titled frame on its own would be quite the steal in my neck of the woods.
I'm going to be gussying up a '73 CL450 over the next few months, so I'll definitely have my eye on your build!

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Got my new swingarm bushings from Performance International/CBX Performance. They look and fit great. Next step is to order new bushings for the lower shock mounts, probably from BikeBandit. Then have the swing arm powder coated. Plan to order tapered rollers for the steering neck from All Balls and I've noticed they also have wheel bearings and fork seals. Has anyone used these parts? Are there other rebuildable parts in the front end, or upgrade or performance parts available?

·
Registered
3,926 Posts