Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, newbie here to the forum and absolutely a newbie when it comes to motorcycle builds.

I picked up a barn find 76 500T for $250. It didn't run. No carburetors and no battery. I installed a new battery and a few things don't work, but above all, there's no spark when i use the kick start.

I checked the spark plugs and they were foul and I bought a multimeter and the ignition coils read no reiststance in any Ohm setting. So obviously i need new coils and plugs.

My question is, however, what are the other things i should check/where do i find them on the bike/how do i test them. I'm going to order new parts but I want to hold off until I can compile a list of things to buy all at once and make a weekend or two out of it.

I Aorreciate the help!

I also don't have a Clymer manual yet and when it comes to electrical, I'm dyslexic so trying to make sense of a wiring diagram is at the same level of torture to me as waterboarding :D

·
Sensei
27,144 Posts
Infinite resistance in both the windings?....Are you reading Black/white wire to either Yellow or Blue?....There SHOULD be NO continuity to ground EXCEPT through the points, which you should have disconnected to test the coils......
Perhaps a re-test would help.....Phone me while you are at the bike, meter in hand.....540-525-5199.....Steve

P.S. a Factory service manual is infinitely preferable to any other.......PDF copies are available here through some member's generosity...

·
Sensei
27,144 Posts
Yes, all good EXCEPT, IF you have just a bad plug cap you'll get a bad coil reading as well...The coil MAY be good.....Phone.....

Caps are under $6....Coils are $50+

·
Sensei
27,144 Posts