Honda Twins banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve had this bike since spring, but I can't get a spark, and I'm not good at troubleshooting electrics. I don't want it taking up space in my garage all winter, so I’m going to give someone more capable than me a shot at getting this hard-to-find classic Honda on the road – or off-road -- again.

I was told this bike sat in a shed for 40 years. I buy and restore a lot of vintage Japanese bikes, and here is my assessment:

THE GOOD:

- Original and complete except seat is one year newer, and bike has been repainted
- All lights & horn work
- New battery, condenser & starter relay
- Compression seems good
- Clutch & transmission feel OK
- No evidence of tank leaks
- Gauges look decent -- not too faded/cloudy
- Seat is excellent with only one 3/8" tear
- Comes with copy of factory service manual
- Fresh oil change
- Parts are plentiful online – shares most with CB450 & CB500T
- I haven't removed/inspected the carbs, but the butterflies open and snap shut with the throttle, so
they aren’t gummed up
- Switch wires are in handlebars for uncluttered look
- Center stand for easy maintenance
- Double leading shoe front drum brake

THE BAD:

- Does not run -- no spark
- Electric starter will need repair or replacement (bike has kickstarter, too)
- Original tires will need to be replaced
- Original chain & sprockets will need to be replaced
- New right handlebar switch/brake lever perch (comes with bike) needs to be installed
- Will need new air filters
- One fork gaiter torn
- Rusty tank -- will need acid treatment

THE UGLY:

- Paint job is so-so
- Surface rust on frame, spokes, handlebars, other locations
- Front fender has a shallow dent
- Exhaust has typical scratches/dents & rust in nooks & crannies, but no holes