Honda Twins banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First of all, a big hello to everyone one on the forum.
I've been rebuilding a CB750 for over two years now and have recently purchased a "quick project bike".

I believe its a '74 CB200, engine no. CB200E-1023XXX

After removal of the engine, the first problem I face is a free spinning Sump/Oil Bolt.
Is this common?
Whats the best method for removal?
(I though perhaps attempting to weld a T-Bar to the bolt head and pull whilst twisting.)

Once removed, is there a simple fix?

Frame, which I plan to have Sandblasted and Powder Coated Gloss Black.

A bit of work ahead, engine currently does not turn over...

·
Registered
65 Posts
Hey looks better then mine when I started! Do you mean removal of the centrifugal oil filter?

[attachment=0:eek:5thv6mw]IMG_2038.JPG[/attachment:eek:5thv6mw]

I tried the bolt method but ended up using a screwdriver in the holes you can see inside the cap. Just had to wrench on it until it started moving. The o-ring inside mine had hardened and the alloy cap had bound itself to the 'cup/cylinder' mainly from corrosion... took a while to get it out, but got it out eventually!

Attachments

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the tip, I'm sure I'll look at the Oil Filter soon..

I actually mean the bolt on the base of the engine, used to drain oil when the engine is in the frame.
This is spinning, not coming loose or tight. Appears to have destroyed the thread.

Whilst I'm not looking forward to getting new cases, if it has to be done then so be it.

My primary concern is leaking oil everywhere during tear down.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
As I mentioned my engine is seized, I was unable to remove the head without taking drastic steps...
(Documented below).

As you can see, the pistons look to be pretty stuck...
Whats the best method for removal of the barrels/cylinder??