Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
255 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all,

Even though the majority of this project probably won't really get moving until at least this summer (relocation heading our way), I figured I'd get this started with a little background, plus some early progress.

My background is almost entirely 4-wheels, and a lot of open-wheeled track versions. I'm the owner of a forum community like this one dedicated to formula cars of all kinds, but mostly small bore amateur racing in North America and Australia. We've been around since late 1999 and we're still growing, but house, wife, kids, work and everything else pulled me out of racing cars pretty much for good. Over the last few years as we have bounced around between states and dealt with inconsistent employment, I've had to dial back a lot of my hobbies. The result of that fat trimming is that when I do have idle time, I get really itchy about working on mechanical things that aren't our daily drivers or a lawnmower.

I have threatened to restore an old muscle car, but I know better–lack of space, money, time and everything else makes my wife look at me like I'm an alien. I haven't been on a motorcycle since long before I met my wife and grew up, but I have been wanting to do a cafe-style street racer for a while. It seemed like a good time to do it, the costs fit my budget, I can work in a smaller space and I can move everything around on my own without help from a cherry picker or someone else to split the weight. The vintage Japanese bikes are a perfect fit for me.