Honda Twins banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got my first flat today! Fortunately I wasn't on the bike when it happened. Unfortunately it was at a rest stop in eastern Oregon at 106 degrees! My wife was able to scoot away on her bike and get me a tow home.
Hopefully I can get a new tube put in my rear tire in the morning. I already removed the wheel without much trouble. This is my first time removing a wheel, and I'm wonding if there's any special tips for making sure I get it back on straight.
Thanks for any tricks anyone can offer!
This is a '73 CL350, BTW.

Sent from my SM-T337T using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
24,208 Posts
Be sure to put the axle spacers on the correct sides. There's a small dimple/indent on the top surface of each axle adjuster, that should be lined up on each side with the stamped index marks on the swing arm. You may end up in between marks so eyeball it as close as possible on each side. Be sure you have at least 5/8" free play in the chain, measured by lifting the chain in the bottom middle. Be sure to tighten the axle nut and the brake panel stay nut plus cotter pins.

·
Registered
866 Posts
I used to agonize over the alignment to make it perfectly lined up - til I saw what other people were running and mine was just fine in comparison. Also take a felt pen and mark 1 side of each of the adjuster bolts, easier to turn them both equal I find.

·
Registered
866 Posts
Need PICS of that CL :) Here is mine after my chain adjustment today. Feels better with not too much slack in the chain. Insert pun.
Land vehicle Vehicle Motorcycle Car Fuel tank

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Pretty thing! My chain was due for an adjustment too.