Honda Twins banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, thanks for taking the time to read this. I've finally found some time this later Winter - early Spring to dive back into my '72 CL350. I'm new to working on these motorcycles and am looking for a little guidance. I've just cleaned my carbs and checked the jets.

The PO had different jets in each carb body (#105 main jet in one side and #100 in the other). The bike came with original air boxes and new air filters, but the PO was running 6" UNI foam filters and said it drove well. How/why would he use different sized jets? Or was he just a bonehead?

Because the jets were different I figured that I'd just buy a rebuild kit from Common Motor and start from scratch. From what I have found out, please tell me if I am mistaken, is that the main jet primary for this particular carb is #68. The Common Motor kits comes with a #70. Will this still work?

I know the old timers and purists only use the air boxes/filters (and probably for good reason) - which is the plan - and say you can't get these motors running really well with pods. So how come so many owners use the pod/foam filters and how do they know what jets to use?

Thanks Fellas & look forward to reading some responses.

Cheers

·
Premium Member
10,203 Posts
Your last question first:

Folks use pod/foam filters because:
1. They look cool (in their opinion)
2. Any modification has to improve performance. Hey, they wouldn't sell that stuff if it wasn't better than stock.
3. They don't know what jets to use until they put the package together. Then, if they can read the spark plugs, it is possible to come up with the best jets for that particular combination of parts.