Honda Twins banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello, I have 86 nighthawk 450sc i just bought a few months ago and im extremely new to motorcycles and carburetors and just curious if some could tell me if its normal for my bike to have to run/idle for 10+minutes before it will let me drive it. If i attempt to ride it before than it will sputter out and die once i start giving it throttle. Had the carbs cleaned by the local harley shop but issue is still there. Would the canister being hooked up incorrectly cause this? Also should add that after the bike is warmed up it runs completely fine and has no issues at all other than taking what i think is a long to be able to ride, Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
24,208 Posts
Something isn't quite right, they are a bit cold blooded but rideable within the first 3-5 minutes. I would start by verifying that the ignition is correct, there's a sticky in the Electrical section on diagnosing the ignition system. Once that's confirmed/repaired then check the sync, check that the accelerator pump is working, set the mixtures.
I don't know much about the canister system other than what I've read in the FSM, every bike that should have it that I've dealt with has been missing it or it was disconnected.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Awesome thank you longdistancerider! Not to be a complete pain in the butt how do i search for this sticky? Completely new to this website haha! Sorry! haha

·
Premium Member
24,208 Posts
Awesome thank you longdistancerider! Not to be a complete pain in the butt how do i search for this sticky? Completely new to this website haha! Sorry! haha
Stickies are the blue threads at the top of each section, when you click the Electrical section it brings up the page and they are always the first threads, it's the way specific topics are held to be found easily.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·