Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm having trouble clearing my gear cover case with a aftermarket gearshift lever should I get a oem one? Of so I CANT FIND ONE ANYWHERE lol any help would be appreciated this is my first build really want it to be right

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I figured out I need to set it lower DUH lol I also need help finding bolts for my left side gear cover cannot find them anywhere do I need special bolts?

·
Premium Member
24,208 Posts
The bolts are 6 x 35 mm, 1.0 pitch. Factory bolts used an 8mm head, you can use Stainless Allen heads.
The shift lever should be pointing straight ahead and parallel to the ground, might need to bend it out a bit for clearing the case cover.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I've went out and bought some 6mm x 30 flange bolts today will that work for now I'm definitely going to get some stainless steel hex bolts that's a great upgrade thank you!

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
That's a good site I've been wondering how to take the air assist fork caps off wat tool do I need? I also finally got my gear cover off today (broken bolt) and my stator? I guess is caked with powdery rust and my sproket is loose is that normal?

·
Premium Member
24,208 Posts
The front sprocket has movement in/out on the shaft and a little bit of radial play. Dry rust on that area indicates the PO never lubed the chain.
The fork caps come off with a 17mm wrench, open end fits the cap. You do have to remove the hose first and be sure to support the front of the bike so when the cap comes loose it doesn't fly away as the bike falls down.

·
Registered
9,796 Posts

·
Premium Member
24,208 Posts