Honda Twins banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
'81 CM400T Possible Cafe project

Update April 13th:
So I think I'm going to turn this into a Cafe racer project but with my own style. I really like the low handebars but I need to be able to carry a passenger if needed so I'm not a huge fan of the seats.

I finally was able to register here. I've had a thread going on sohc4.net since March 23rd and have fixed a few of the problems with help from them. I'm a complete noob with motorcycles but have tinkered with cars my whole life so I know some things. I have a clymer which is very helpful.

I bought the bike with a couple problems. The PO did a real nice job fixing it up (heavy sarcasm) and neglected to include numerous important parts. No airbox to carb boots, air filter, dead battery and more.

March 23rd.
Got the bike home. Bogged at 3-4k. High Idle around 6k. I was told this is because it is running lean.
Fixed the bog with airbox to carb boots. Brought the idle down to 5k.

April 1st
High idle around 5k
Ran seafoam. Brought idle down just a tad. New battery.

April 4th
Idle continues to lower and is less sporadic. About 4k now. Backfire into the left carb
Emptied the tank. Cleaned the filter.

April 5th
Took the carbs apart. They were very clean with just a little sediment in the bottom of the float bowls. Noticed the pilot screw cap on the left carb is broken off and the right carb was filed down so it can rotate completely.
New fuel line. More seafoam

April 7th
High idle is less frequent. Usually right after pulling in the clutch. I can get it to lower if I fiddle with the idle adjustment screw. Muffler leaks bad in the crossover. Comes out the left side.
Seafoam in the oil. Rode for about 20 minutes then changed the oil. Hard to shift at first. Much better now.