Honda Twins banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All! Just wanted to get a link up to my newest project...

I bought a '79 CM400t that the previous owner had dismantled some time ago. He had purchased some new parts & tires and had the frame powder coated. The rest came in boxes!

The cafe conversion requires some major subframe mods.......I've been documenting it on youtube. Check it out.......

·
Registered
9,797 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Great to see another 400 series here. Looks like you're in for some fun.

You'll need a proper Honda Factory Service manual to go with the Clymer picture book.

PM sent

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Quick question.... does anyone know offhand what the stock front and rear sprocket sizes and number of chain links are(were) for the CM400? Thanks

·
Registered
353 Posts
I have been contemplating this frame seat problem on my 450 cm for several months now. I thought about cutting the frame and putting a straight bar design, but seems to lead to a higher rear shock top mounting point and new longer after market shock purchase. Instead I opted to cut the factory seat metal and build a new seat off of that platform. Extremely difficult, but I think I have a unique design vision, and if I can achieve it, I think it will pay off big! It's in my project log link.

·
Registered
3,266 Posts
Make a run of them, have them upholstered and put them up to auction, there are a few cool seats available for CM400s but none overcome the way the frame design limits (or rather relegates) the bike's cafe racer asperations to mere delusions.

I'd bet they sell out.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·