Honda Twins banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey y’all, new here,
I picked up a 78 CB400TII in October as my first bike with no real knowledge of how they work or how to fix them so I’m pretty new to this. I just successfully rebuilt/repaired the carbs, which are from a CB400A. It runs but I think I still need to figure out the mixture screw situation.

The engine has some blown gaskets which didn’t really bother me at first but now the shifter isn’t quite working 100% of the time and that scares me. So now I’m thinking of an engine swap. I think I’ve found one in good condition. My question is what really goes into an engine swap? Is it just time and muscle? Or is there any kind of tuning/tweaking of some sort that would need to be done? Oiling it up is obvious but besides that I’m hoping I can just bolt everything on and start it up.

Also the CB400 II has a tachometer, electric start, and kick start while the CB400 I has no tach and just a kick start. Would I run into any problems if the engine happened to be off a Type I?

·
Registered
9,797 Posts
You are using vb24's on your 400T? Vb24's have a venturi of only 28mm as opposed to the original VB21's which have a venturi of 32mm. It will run, but using the 400a carbs make your engine severely detuned and under carburated.

·
Premium Member
10,203 Posts
Any of the manual transmission SOHC 400/450 engines will work as a replacement if you decide to go that way.

If you're having problems getting it to idle you may have issues with the mixture screw adjustment. If you have issues with performance above idle you have other problems to address.

Post moved to SOHC engine section.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yes VB24s. I didn’t realize that was what was on the bike until I had a rebuild kit for the VB21s and the new jet needle wasn’t the correct size. Thankfully all the other parts were interchangeable.