Honda Twins banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

New to the forum, Names Brian. Northeast Ohio Lorain County Area, 28 Years Old DIY motorcycle enthusiast, Backyard mechanic no professional here but I do my best, Ive got a few motorcycles (74 cb500,71 Triumph Daytona 500,04 Suzuki DRZ400). I Rebuilt the top end of my cb500 and multiple carbs on bikes and other things just so you know my skill level, self taught, I can tackle most things with a little help.

Anyways,
My brother and I have a pair of 78 CB400a bikes, one runs perfect and is in mint shape the red one, the other was sold to us as a parts bike, being the blue one. We're trying to get the blue one running, we can get the bike to run and idle fine but any time that it is put into gear the bike stalls out and dies, We have bypassed the kick stand switch to confirm that was not an issue and actually pulled the whole side panel electronics from the perfect running bike to see if that changed anything and still have the same verdict, I do have the Honda Hawk Shop manual for this bike but I don't see a whole lot in it with maintenance on the transmission. I'm assuming it has a torque converter similar to an automatic transmission on a car? Could this be locked up? It has a kick starter and its notorious for kicking back on you abruptly also (messed up my leg actually). Been tinkering with the bike for a year or so now and am kind of at wits end with it, we have pulled and cleaned the carbs and replaced the boots on the carbs also, just wasn't sure where to go next on this one, i've tried searching online and anything I've searched we looked over, which its been a little while so I may be missing something we tried. But I do have a good running bike I can swap over parts to, to test them at least. Thanks in Advance!

13257123_1642937472619539_905167086_n.jpg

·
Registered
1,333 Posts