Honda Twins banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
and I'm back with a new problem. :)

Riding to work this morning, while climbing hill going about 45 the bike started losing power. Then for the rest of the ride I can't get over 40. Get to work and the right side exhaust pressure is almost non-existant. So I figure (and I'm a total noob so I'm probably wrong) that there is something wrong with right side carburetor.

The question is what are the possible causes and should I just take to a shop or try and do something about it myself. I'm new to all this but not afraid to get my hands dirty.

Thanks!

·
Registered
8,867 Posts
Fuel starvation would be the first place to think of for sure. Crud in the line could block the carb inlet to the bowl. Water in the bowl though that seems less likely, or a blocked jet. I always work on the kis pronciple Keep it simple.
Start with the obvious, first the fuel line followed by the carb bowl.
There is also a possibility of the electrical side failing if you have twin coils one could fail and the other work ok. This should be easy to check to see if there is a spark to start with. Then check out points visually and gap with guage.
Hope that is helpful

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks! I'll check all that out first before I do anything more drastic.

This could be a total coincidence but at one point during the ride the bike stalled as I was down shifting quickly and stopping at light. It wouldn't start again, so pulled over tried to start it again a couple of times, nothing. So after sitting there for about three minutes deciding who I was going to call to come get me for some reason I decided to switch fuel petcock to reserve, I knew I had gas so I really don't know why I tried it but it started. So maybe that has something to do with a fuel flow issue (though I'm not sure why the would only effect 1 side) or just sitting with the bike off for a minute helped it to start.