Honda Twins banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I finally figured out my electrical issue and got the old gal humming, but my left cylinder seems to be running hotter than the right. They both get hot, but the right is slightly cooler than the left. I only have a muffler on the left right now as my new set is in the mail. Is there any troubleshooting I can do before I get my mufflers? Right one pops a bit on throttle and veeery little white smoke out the left. Left carb is dripping gas out the overflow a bit nothing from the right, but it was sitting on the stand tipped to the left a bit. Timings done, carbs are synced and cleaned, battery is full charge. Forgive me if theres info I'm not providing, I'm new to this and trying to learn by trial error and hondatwins.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
From what I've been reading it sounds like I need to redo the timing, but still interested to hear what everyone has to say. I was hoping to save some cash and not have to buy an impact driver, those screws are a pain to get off.

·
Registered
555 Posts
I’d say you’ll definitely need to have them in similar states before comparing...the right will be under a lot less back pressure with no muffler, and these bikes like back pressure (usual recommendation is that the exhausts should extend past the rear axle to avoid having to re-jet).

Otherwise, the Harbor Freight impact is serviceable and like $9 :) you’ll definitely get your money’s worth with it, it’s a must have if you still have crusty JIS screws (you can get a JIS bit for the driver if you intend to reuse them and don’t want to munge the heads with a Phillips).

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks, I'll wait and give it a shot when they come in. It only backfires when the bike has been running a bit, runs smooth when cold. Left carb still drips out of the overflow when gas is off too but I think I just have a janky petcock.

·
Registered