Honda Twins banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I'm a tech at a small shop in Cocoa, FL. During my down time I'm working on my bosses 72 cl175.
A comp test revealed 50-60 psi from both cyl's. Pulled it apart cleaned everything, looked at the valves and piston rings and they looked fine, replaced all the gaskets and Bam 130-140 both cyl's.
Timing is set perfectly and she makes great spark.
My problem lies in the carb tuning, or lack of correct carbs. She fires up and idles ok, but I'm finding it difficult to get her to hold a steady idle, giving it a blip of throttle the idle will hang and hold unless I give it some choke to force the idle back down (no the cables are nice and free), and even with a/f screws all the way in the idle hang almost goes away but she still wants to idle around 2k and sounds like she's gonna stall if I get her back down to 1200. Needle set at it's lowest point and no air cleaner's plug come out pitch black after 20-30 seconds of idling.
The carbs have slide covers with 20 on them, the butterflys on the choke plate have 18 on them, from what I can tell the air jets look like the ones from the 200 carbs (I'm not super informed about these old Honda's, I just have a couple of old crappy shop manuals that cover all the cb/cl range), and both carbs are running 35 and 90 jets. I don't have a great way to measure the Venturi size reliably. I'm just curious to know the slide and needle dimensions for the stock bike and whether or not these seem to be the correct carbs. ANY suggestions at this point would be an awesome and much needed help. Thanks

·
Registered
13,085 Posts