Honda Twins banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Problem: Starter engaging with turn of key! Not button!
Bike: 1972 Honda CB450 Twin

So… Glad to be here on the forum- newbie here, and love these old CB Honda’s. First 450 I’ve ever had though.

Let me go back to the beginning before the non-stop starter…

Bike was firing just fine off the starter button, when all of a sudden, it all stopped. The starter button seemed to be dead. Lights were on, gauges were on, etc.
Did some research and thought the culprit might be the ignition/coils/solenoid/starter button itself.
While I was purchasing a NOS ignition, I went ahead and bought some coils & solenoid as well.

Installed all, wires matched up on both the ignition, and the coils- NOS, not aftermarket- Feel pretty confident it was done right.

Turned the key to on, and the starter engages non-stop. As if I’m pushing the button, but I’m not.
The run/stop button has no effect on this- it still engages. But everything in the controls/lights/horn works properly.

Thought it might be something with the starter button. Took the controls apart and connections seem to be good. Button seems to make contact as it should, to "ground" out as it hits.

Thought it might be the solenoid- switched that out- same thing- constant starter with turn of key.

Thought it might be the ignition (even brand new can be bad/wrong sometimes)- switched that out – same problem.

Checked wires throughout for breakage, shorting, etc. in headlight/frame/to controls- All seem to be good.

Questions:
The coils – I've looked at a diagram, and my wires seem to match - 1 black/wht wire off each coils to a singular black/wht wire in harness?
1 double (blue) wire from new coil, split to blue wire on condenser, and blue wire on points?
Other side is same but with yellow wires?
Did I do any of that wrong???

Could it be the starter itself? Stuck? How to diagnose?