Honda Twins banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So "part deux" is well underway. I'm not good at project logging, so the pics I have to date were for reference only. Then I found this site while setting up my cam chain., so then I joined. So part deux is my second project bike, my first being a 76 CB550. I love these old Hondas. I starting by purchasing two basket cases, a 1970 CL450 and a 1974 CB450, well paper work was a mess and the bikes had incomplete engines. So I bought a third bike, 1972 CB450, good papers in my home state and what i thought was a good engine, boy was I wrong! This is how it looked when I brought it home.

So then I began the assessment. It ran but poorly, low compression, needed rebuild. The shifter shaft was bent and stripped, then pinned but only 1/2 way through so I had to cut the shaft off for disassembly.

Pistons .075mm over bore, new cam chain, new old stock cam end caps, new old stock cam followers, gaskets & seals, new shift shaft, valve job.

Cylinder bored and powder coated black, I had the fins wiped off for a different look. The case were split, all parts inspected, cases painted. I'm doing a 550-4 engine at the same time, so the pic shows both motors.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Re: 72 CB450 cafe project aka part deux

With the amount of aluminum on this engine, I figured I'd learn how to polish. I bought a Harbor freight polisher and built a stand fom an old truck rim and some channel iron, pic to follow later.

The engine brackets on the CL were aluminum, so they got polished as did all the covers. I learned that you better be holding onto your work tight, I lost the chain cover and broke a piece off, more ebay purchases!

So all the covers got done, I love the look of these engines. I high temp painted the engine, the top part silver and the lower black, wiped the fins off. I like it. The exhaust will be stainless steel.

·
Registered
37 Posts