Honda Twins banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
6v Cm200t with no spark. - need a flow chart

I've done some initial tests, as I have experience with 12v bikes with points. I'm no expert. I'm not getting spark and nothing at the points. I did my best to verify everything and here is what I have came up with so far.

- rectifier has power at 2 wires with the switch on. Seems to be working properly, as I can get it to read ohms on 4 pins, but not when I reverse the leads on the DMM. I can also get double the ohms crossing one set of pins jumping over the bridge of the rectifier proving it is a completed circuit internally.

- Ignition coil has resistance on the input side and the output side. I forgot how much, but wasn't a dead short. Had "some" resistance so I figured it's ok.

- Condenser may be bad, but chicken/egg I need to find the flow of voltage and where it stops before I bother with that.

- Electrical flow chart...... that'd be handy. I need to follow it up to where it stops and find out why, but Even though I have traced the wires, I do not know the factors involving where power is split, applied, etc. Anyone wanna take up telling me where i should see 6v at each point?

- Stator appears to be a 2 wire. I have 2 yellow and 2 off color so those should be the pickup. Stator wires are not shorted nor grounded and have conductivity. I forget what the pickup should pulse when rotated, anyone want to refresh me? AC or DC?

I've just received the bike and it hasn't ran in forever. Has high compression on one cyl (120/60) so may have a LOT of carbon on that side or something.... not sure yet I haven't made it that far. I'll tackle that later. My finance's 16 yr old wants a bike and I got this for $50 figuring I'd build it. It's PERFECT for him. Size and weight (and power) for a training wheels bike couldn't be better. I'll just follow him in 3rd gear everywhere on my bike. LOL.

EDIT: here's a pic