Honda Twins banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Soon to sand blast after mock up.

Bike has been a lot of fun. still a ton more work to go. Im new with bikes so I am learning as I go.

Attachments

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Rearsets that wont set you back!

I had seen a set that someone made on a diff site (http://dotheton.com/index.php?topic=7401.0) and decided to make my own set. I absolutely hate working with aluminum and I wanted to go with something that had a lot more strength.

i picked up a 9x 15 sheet of 3/16" steel for $10. (enough steel to make 10 of these)
the pegs were $20 at a local bike store ... Really high quality. could have made my own but wanted to save some time
bearings were 5 bucks for the both of them
Axel bolts $3

these only took me about 3 hours to make. the most time consuming part was cutting the steel.

I made templates in Autodesk Inventor and spray glued them right onto steel. than i center punched my holes and began cutting.

i spec'd out the bearing with a dial caliper and than heated the steel to allow the bearing a real tight fit. let it cool down gently dont want to flash cool it.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
5,610 Posts
Looking good. I'm going down the same road (350 cafe) so I'll be following your progress. I started to make my own rearsets as well similar to the ones you've made but I stopped half-way through due to other projects. Hope to get back at them soon. Your's look real good. Any issues with how they function? Post a pic of your brake side setup when you get a chance, love to see it.

·
Registered
3,926 Posts
Isn't the brake side rearset gonna push the brake linkage rather than pull it? Unless you simply have it assembled upsidedown?? They also look to be a little slippery as far as grip on the pegs..

GB :mrgreen:

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·