Honda Twins banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First post, been lurking for a few weeks.
To make a long story as short as possible - I bought this bike for a couple hundred bucks. Decided I could make it my project. I’ve done basic work on bikes for years but this is my first time opening up an engine. So bare with me.
Apparently this bike has been sitting outside for 25+ years, and it shows. Cam chain was broken when I removed the head. Cam chain guide/tensioner was a mess. Have both of those parts on the way.
I’m planning on splitting the cases tomorrow and cleaning it out, but earlier tonight I opened up the oil filter and found this...

it’s magnetic. I cleaned out the filter but I have no idea what to do now. I’m assuming i need to flush the whole motor. Any advice on how to do that would be appreciated. Really hoping you guys don’t tell me “it’s toast.”

Thank you.

·
Administrator
13,086 Posts
Duke, with that kind of magnetic buildup in the oil filter, you need to tear down the entire engine. A flush won't tell you what is wrong and at its age and with what you've discovered, you need to inspect everything to expect any kind of long-term reliability from it.

That said, since you're now a member and plan to participate, you need to introduce yourself to the community. Please check your Conversations as below, read and follow the links I sent you - thanks.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you
Duke, with that kind of magnetic buildup in the oil filter, you need to tear down the entire engine. A flush won't tell you what is wrong and at its age and with what you've discovered, you need to inspect everything to expect any kind of long-term reliability from it.

That said, since you're now a member and plan to participate, you need to introduce yourself to the community. Please check your Conversations as below, read and follow the links I sent you - thanks.
View attachment 305075

View attachment 305075