Honda Twins banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm new to all this and don't know anything. I've been looking at getting an early honda 450 and looking at a few. Curious if the 68 and 69 models are still considered "black bombers" even though they changed the tank style. or would they just be called Honda 450's? thanks in advance

·
Registered
6,495 Posts

·
Registered
8,867 Posts
Bill thats a bit harsh about the astheic shape of the K1 tank over the BB.
Some of us love the shape, quirky as it is. Then again a lot of old brit "cafe racers" had large tanks like the Bombers. As that started in the UK, maybe its why we like them so much here now.
Anyway its good to have different likes. I dont find the K1 tank quite so appealing myself.

·
Premium Member
1,003 Posts
blackie said:
Hi I'm new to all this and don't know anything. I've been looking at getting an early honda 450 and looking at a few. Curious if the 68 and 69 models are still considered "black bombers" even though they changed the tank style. or would they just be called Honda 450's? thanks in advance
There is a K1 on the bay at the moment that is listed as a Black Bomber. I think that some people are not that well informed and believe all CB450's are BB's. I sold a restored K2 last year and several people rang to ask if it was a BB :) most had been told that the BB was the one to collect and that was the extent of there knowledge :lol: :lol: should have told them that it was, could have made more $$$.

·
Registered
6,495 Posts
Znabb said:
Anorak facts:
The early CB450 K2 (frame no 8956-21591) also had the "K1" tank with chrome sides. :ugeek:
Now you're talking about non-US models, which can vary quite a bit....

·
Premium Member
1,003 Posts
tbpmusic said:
Znabb said:
Anorak facts:
The early CB450 K2 (frame no 8956-21591) also had the "K1" tank with chrome sides. :ugeek:
Now you're talking about non-US models, which can vary quite a bit....