Honda Twins banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys! New User, but I have been creeping on Hondatwins for a few months now gathering info for my 65' cb160.

I was lucky enough to find a cb160 that was in pretty good shape and still in the original owners hands. I have managed to get it running and riding but have run into the problem of the headlight burning out and wanting to upgrade to an LED to make my electrical system a little more efficient.

I found this post and would like to do something similar

http://www.hondatwins.net/forums/50-electrical-discussion/25905-led-headlight-install-oem-sealed-beam-headlamp.html

I am wondering if anyone knows of a place that still sells this LED upgrade kit? I tried all of the Links in this thread and they are all dead ends. The only place that I can buy the kit is from the manufacturer itself and I don't need a minimum order of 100 units... I would appreciate any help!

Thanks guys

Colin

·
Registered
555 Posts
I wrote a few headlight upgrade articles in last month on headlight upgrades. (surprised you cannot find them). Some were 12 volt & other 6 volt. What is your motorcycle battery voltage? If 12 volts with sealed beam the article your found is only way to convert with keeping stock headlight bucket. If willing to replace headlight bucket find my article for new headlight & LED. It shows parts needed.

·
Registered
208 Posts
Tinge: years ago I replaced the original headlamp on my 160 with an American 5 1/4" halogen sealed beam bulb. I worked well, but drew too much current to keep the battery charged when lit. At issue is that the alternator on 160s is rated at only 35 watts of output (which is what the halogen bulb drew).