Honda Twins banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
The original cam bolts are marked with 11 on the bolt head. I have read that they are not standard 8.8 bolts. And they also do not feel like standard bolts when you torque them. But does anyone actually know how hard they are? Possible options are typically 10.9 or 12.9.

The advised and tested 12 - 15 Ft/lbs I read in the sticky topic on this sub forum suggests that it is a 12.9 bolt. As far as I know 13 Ft/lbs (or 17.652 Nm) is the advised torque on a dry M6 12.9 bolt

·
Premium Member
3,006 Posts
If you are replacing them remember that on is a SHOULDERED Bolt to insure proper alignment of the Cam Sprocket.

·
Registered
2,837 Posts
I just looked at a Todd Henning racing sprocket, and the pic showed jdm? 10.9 bolts. Bolt depot described as automotive grade. I've no experience, but would be wary of hardware store bins.

·
Registered
315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
If you are replacing them remember that on is a SHOULDERED Bolt to insure proper alignment of the Cam Sprocket.
I know... I have 4 of the shouldered bolts in my stash. I just need the other ones. By the way: with a degreeable sprocket the knock bolt is not really needed anyway.

·
Registered
315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I just looked at a Todd Henning racing sprocket, and the pic showed jdm? 10.9 bolts. Bolt depot described as automotive grade. I've no experience, but would be wary of hardware store bins.
Where can I see that pic? I have the same adjustable THR sprocket. He forgot to include the bolts with my sprocket and he did not want to send them to me afterwards.

I find it hard to believe that those bolts are 10.9. Purely because of the advised torque. 12-15 ft/lbs is too much for 10.9 bolts. I asked THR about the exact hardness and he did not give an exact answer. He just said they were hardened. I was getting fed up asking him.

·
Registered
13,085 Posts