Honda Twins banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

Firstly i'd like to apologize if this thread is redundant, I have not seen a topic addressing what i am looking for so here I go:

I have a 1982 CM450E with front and rear drum brakes.Recently I hit a bump on the road and messed up my speedometer and front wheel a little, it now has a wobble. I went to see my mechanic about it and he said we could find a new wheel OR swap the whole front end with disc brakes from another bike. I have no mechanical experience besides the little things i have learn over the years to perform my own maintenance but I am very much a newbie.

I have found a front setup locally(19inch wheel), but it is for a CB450 (It looks like parts from a CB450SC). Now i was wondering if anyone knows if these parts are swapable? If i show up with the front setup from a CB450SC, will my mechanic be able to make the swap?

A CM450E is supposed to have a 18 inch front wheel, and a 16 inch rear, but the previous owner of my bike had swapped the rear for a 17 inch tire/wheel. So i currently have a 18 front and 17 rear on my bike.
Will having a 19 inch front tire be okay since it would be closer to the factory's intended wheel size difference(~2 inches)?

If these parts are not compatible, which are? and do your have them for sale ahahahahha
Also a link to any builds doing the swap mentioned above would be great as well!

Thanks a lot guys,

Here are links to the photos of the CB450 parts I found locally,can your experienced eyes let me know if these parts are still decent.

·
Registered
421 Posts
As you're gonna find out, there are tons of front ends that can bolt up with little to no modifications. That, however, does not mean that any front end that fits will suit your needs.

The easiest front end swap in my opinion would be from a disc brake CM/CB 400/450 SOHC '78-'86 (nighthaw, hawk, CM400C etc) as these all use basically the same frame.