Honda Twins banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys. I’m a newbie to this forum but I’m sure there’s a lot of experts on this forum. I’m very comfortable working on Honda electrical systems, but I have a problem I’m struggling with. I’ve just completely restored a 1981 CM400C only to discover the alternator is not charging. The regulator was fine; the alternator coils were shorted to ground. Since I was unable to locate a used stator to buy, I disassembled the alternator and re-wired it. Alternator checks out properly now EXCEPT I either damaged one of the ignition coils or mis-wired them. The wires are too faded and stained to match and re-connect (my bad). The ignition components here consist of a Fixed Pulser (external to stator), an ignition coil (internal), and an Advancer Pulser (internal). There are 9 wires from 3 connectors to the alternator: 3 yellow to the alternator windings, 2 to the Fixed Pulser and the last 4 connect inside the stator, but unfortunately there’s 5 connections inside the stator and I can’t find a detailed wiring diagram for these internal ignition components. Has anyone figured this out before? Does anyone have a bad stator that I can reverse engineer? When I solve this, I’ll post here the HOW-TO rebuild the alternator, detailed wiring diagram, materials needed to do the rebuild, etc.
Thanks in advance for any assistance.

·
Registered
459 Posts
I Have a used CB450SC stator that had the trigger cut off by the PO. Wiring to the trigger is intact and I have the trigger It was cut 1/4" off the trigger. I would need to check and make sure the wiring is not faded and is viable for your purpose. PM me.

·
Registered
459 Posts
As far as I am aware all the manual trans cm/cb400/450's use the same stator so it would work. If I am wrong I am sure someone will be along shortly to set me straight.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4