Honda Twins banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, smarter individuals than I.

I picked up an 1980 CM400T about a year and a half ago and after a long time of putting it off, I am finally ready to fix it up. I started the tear-down process but was just curious about a problem I was running into pre-tear-down. When I insert the key into the ignition and turn it to the on position (all the lights light up) but when I press the engine start button, there is a clicking/buzzing/humming sound that comes from the starter solenoid (or at least what I was told that was the starter solenoid....) When I was looking around for a replacement if that was the issue, I am having trouble finding a replacement part. The one currently on my bike seems to be for a CB model I believe. Does anyone know the correct model/part that would fit a 1980 CM400T?

Honestly, I'm not too technically smart with these things, so I will probably be asking a lot. Sorry if it may annoy, but any guidance or help would be appreciated immensly. Attached is the starter solenoid that is on my bike currently!

·
Registered
1,532 Posts
Part number 35850-431-007 I dont see why one from another Honda wont work as long as you find one that can wire into your harness.

Bill H

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Part number 35850-431-007 I dont see why one from another Honda wont work as long as you find one that can wire into your harness.

Bill H
Thank you Bill, I will look into that part number. I think I was able to find that part and ordered one today. Hopefully it solves the buzzing issue.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Hello, smarter individuals than I.