Honda Twins banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not very good at this. Here's my latest example and a question:

I am (trying) to time my 1979 CM185 Twinstar. No matter what I do I can't get the points to open (and the light to go off) on F1, but I can get it on F2.

I have recently taken the head off (among a bunch of other things) and replaced valves, pistons, rings, gaskets. When I was putting the camchain back on and getting the marks lined up and timed I did not realize there was a T1 and a T2. The manual said there would be, but for whatever reason I couldn't/didn't see them (I guess the angle I was working the bike) and just thought "huh, must have been switched out with some other part at some point...move along..."

So now as I have gained a bit of knowledge (this is my first motorcycle, never even really ridden one, and clearly my first time working a bike at all) I am thinking that I must have timed the cam to T2 and not T1 like I was supposed to.

Does this make sense? Would setting the cam timing to T2 make it impossible to set the ignition timing to F1? Do I have to take the engine apart a third time and retime the cam? I have been trying to start the bike to no avail, but would just kicking the bike (a lot) and a few attempts at push starting cause any irreversible damage with the cam timed to T2? Did I ruin the bike or is it just a lot more work?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
171 Posts