Honda Twins banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got a new speedometer to replace my old gigantic cluster, when wiring in the speedo I just removed the adapter from the old one and put the relevant wires for the new speedo into the old adapter and plugged it back in.

However the old speedo had an oil light and my new speedo does not. Can I leave the spot on my new adapter empty where the oil wire would've been or will that ruin something?

I've plugged in the new Speedo and tested the wires, it works perfect with no issues - when i plug it into the bike it won't work at all. Bike battery is ~12.5v so its not a dead battery.

I'm also no electrician and ive been soldering together some wires to make things work

Can't figure out why the speedo will not work when I have all the relevant wires plugged into the adapter

Thank you for any help

·
Registered
3,177 Posts
You said your bike is a 78 CB400T, but what speedometer are you using? Did it come without instructions? (common)
Could you post a diagram and some photos of how you have it connected? What adaptor?

·
Premium Member
24,208 Posts
Honda color codes will not match any of the aftermarket stuff. Things to remember about Honda is Green is ground, Brown wires are related to lights, Red is usually a battery hot lead(unswitched) and Black is a main switched power lead.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)