Honda Twins banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, guys, I'm new to all this and I need to replace my tires. I want to go with a slightly bigger tire with a taller side wall but I'm not sure what size to get that won't require me to change anything. The original sizes are 3.60 19 on the front and 4.10 18 on the rear. Any help and recommended sites to order from would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

·
Sensei
27,163 Posts
Not what you want to hear I'm sure, but going to much bigger tires will require re-spoking/re-lacing the wheels with wider rims.....
In your case with the "Comstars", that means new/different wheels.....

Part of the problem with what you want is modern "metric" tires tend to be "low profile" in that their height (sidewall) is at best 90% of their width, often only 80%....
As I an reasonably certain that you are going more for the "large balloon tire" look that is currently in vogue, you'll almost need to stick to inch sized tires (rather than metric) to have that sidewall height.....

The best way NOT to have to change anything (else) is to run the original (and CORRECT for the bike) sized tires on the bike.......

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply. I don't really want them to be too large and balloon like, but yes, I do want them to be slightly bigger to give a more fuller look, if that makes sense. I'm naïve when it comes to tire sizes, but would I be able to get away with say a 4.00 19 and a 4.50 18? If not it looks like I'm going to stick with the original size. Thanks again for your time.

·
Sensei
27,163 Posts
You DO realize that simply changing the tire sizes WILL change how (well) the bike handles and steers ....Correct?.....
WHY would you degrade the safety and handling simply for looks?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7