Honda Twins banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I'm totally new to this world of motorcycle building/restoring. This last summer I picked up a '78 Hawk with the intent of fixing it up over the winter - alas, winter is almost over and I'm still working on the engine rebuild. Anyway, a buddy and I (both in college) intend to finish the engine over spring break, and to do that we need to solve a few problems. I figure that this a good place to search for knowledge, so any wisdom ya'll have to throw at me would be much appreciated .

Anyway, here is the first question: How do I determine the con-rod bearing sizes? Unfortunately, I don't have the original bearing inserts (as I had to order in a new crank/con-rods), and so I assume that plastigage is out of the question. In my shop manual it says that you can determine the bearing sizes based on the con-rod I.D. code number and the corresponding crankpin O.D. code number - that being said, I have recorded the crankpin numbers, but it appears that the con-rod I.D. code has worn off (or, at least, I can't see it, and I don't believe my eyes have failed me yet).

Secondly question: fortunately, when my friend and I measured the main-journal bearing clearances with plastigage (I DO have those bearing inserts), it read that everything was in-spec. Still, I wonder if it would be worth ordering new ones main-journal bearings while we are at it? (We are doing a full-engine rebuild, after all). What recommendations do you all have?

I'll include pictures of the crank, con-rods, and case codes, in case you can find something that has slipped by me (more than likely).

Thanks in advance for the help! Again, any other advice for a first-time builder is greatly appreciated! IMG_1874.JPG IMG_1875.JPG IMG_1879.JPG IMG_1880.JPG IMG_1881.JPG

·
Premium Member
10,203 Posts
Do you have the factory service manual? Sent you a PM just in case...................