Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 86 Posts

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been tinkering with this bike since I got it a few months ago. There's been a number of nagging things I wanted to address so I decided to go all out (not quite sure what that means yet).

The weather is starting to change in ohio so i wheeled my bike into the basement for the winter as I don't have a garage...and yes, it was treacherous wheeling a bike down basement steps.

A few goals:

1. Several oil seals are leaking so I'm planning on replacing those.
2. Engine looks kind of rough as a result so I'd like to paint and polish.
3. Assess condition of engine internals. My serial number lacks the dots so I'm curious of the condition of the cam chain tensioner.
4. Bike is constantly running rich. I'd like to get that figured out.

As far as the bike running rich: I've never been able to use the choke on this bike. If I flip the choke on the engine just dies immediately. Me thinks there is not enough air for one reason or another. But that will wait. First task is the engine.

Here's what I started with:

I love this bike dearly. All and all she runs pretty good. The idea of me taking it completely apart despite having zero experience is a little stressful but sounds like a hell of a fun time.

I head it's easier to get the oil spinner off while the engine is on the frame so that was the first order of business:

I ran into an issue trying to remove the oil pump idle gear. The manual says to do this first by "lifting the idle shaft". I might have missed something completely but there is no way that things coming off without first removing the oil filter rotor. A little jumping out of order and it was free along with the clutch components:

At this point I started pulling the engine. Not easy to do on your own. Day 1 is complete and I've got the engine out of the frame: