Honda Twins banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there,

Last summer I got a 1974 Honda CB450 K7. I'm new to riding and wanted an older bike to learn to ride and to learn about bikes in general.

motomoto.jpg

Overall it's in pretty good shape. It ran well for most of the summer but now is in need of some work.

Towards the end of last summer it started leaking oil from the left crank case cover. After disassembling the left crank case cover and some research on here I believe it is the gear shift oil seal and/or the clutch rod oil seal.

Looking forward to getting it fixed and enjoying the summer!

·
Registered
625 Posts
I chased an oil leak on my 450 for a day or two before identifying it as a blown seal. Should have been my first guess.

Nice bike and nice scenery too. Wish we had some mountain roads here in NYC.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It seems that seals are a fairly common issue with older CB's.

Emigration Canyon, just east of Salt Lake City. Pretty great evening ride!

·
Registered
13,085 Posts
It seems that seals are a fairly common issue with older CB's.