Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My bike upon first start will idle around 1500 for around 1 minute before it dies.
It will stay running with throttle, so I ride anyway.
When riding it dies when I push in the clutch in first gear to come to a stop.
While riding it doesn't seem to have any problem but this is my first bike and I'm not a mechanic so it's possible there's something I'm missing but it has good power and doesn't smoke, pop or seem to miss at all.
Back from the ride I try to idle but it won't so I hold the throttle wondering what's up....I smell gas strong enough to make me wonder if the fuel mix is set properly.

I understand how to seat a screw and how to turn it back out 1-1/4 turns and go from there.
(this is a twin so I'm assuming I will have to do both sides?)
I'm encountering the problem that it won't idle to a warm state and give me a base idle to work with.
In order to for it to be running I have open the throttle and hold it.

Just wondering if anyone has a trick or more knowledge that might help. I've read on this forum for about an hour now but they all say the same thing.
Warm up the bike, seat the screws, turn out 1-1/4, slow down and hunt the sweet spot.
If I missed one with information on how to do this with a bike that won't idle please point me in the right direction.
Also possible I might need to have a bit more patience?
Just that something tells me I don't really want to be twisting these screws back and forth and back and forth and back and for...
Thanks !

P.S. This bike is in running condition but it's old and was taken care of well enough to still be ridden but it might very well have some deeper issues. All intuitions welcome.

·
Premium Member
10,203 Posts
It would help to know what rpm you can keep it running at with the throttle.