Honda Twins banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I'm a complete noob when it comes to bikes, but I've recieved a 1974 cb450 that I'm trying to get running again.

The first thing I did was check the engine oil, because I don't want to be kicking on the bike testing compression without oil.

However I don't know how to read the dipstick, here's a pic of it after I wiped it off, stuck it back in (without screwing back in) and pulling back out.

IMG_0708.jpg

It seems that there's only a bit of oil on the very bottom part.

I just want to make sure that I did it right, even though I followed the manual's instructions.

And if it is too low, what should I do? Drain the oil and replace it (if so, what oil should I buy?), or should I just add oil to it?

The manual also says to only drain the oil when the engine is warm, but that wont be happening. Bike doesn't run.

Lastly (sorry for so many questions) will having no oil vs having oil affect a cold compression test?

·
Registered
805 Posts
Just drain the oil and replace it unless you know it's less than a year old, cb450s do not like dirty old oil. Any old Honda with a centrifugal oil pump will punish you for not changing the oil often enough. The way the cb450 oil passages are makes it extra important to have good clean oil (and even then let it idle for a minute without revving after starting). Don't worry about draining hot, the oil will drain slower and possibly less completely when cold but that's not too big of a problem. Once you get it running it might be a good idea to change it after a couple hundred miles because of the contamination that builds up over time in a sitting engine