Honda Twins banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
https://youtu.be/ckfzPhIKpKk

So this noise happens when its in neutral. And goes away when i changed into first until i start gaining speed. Heres a video of the noise. I took it apart yesterday thinking it was something from the clutch bucket was wrong since thats where the noise seem to be originating from. And everything seems to be right. The only thing i can think of is the shaft the is attached to the clutch bucket, which is the transmission. Ive riden it a few times with this issue and it rides fine with the only exception being this noise. I dont want to keep riding the bike fearing i might do some more damage. Also i am fairly new to riding so i mightve been a bit rough on her especialy with changing gears took me awhile to get use to it. Still have trouble downshifting every now and then. Anyways if it is the trasmission. Being a rookie mechanic with basic tools what kinda comitment am i looking in to? What obstacles and tips can yall give me? Should i just take it to a proffesional(i dont want to spend more than 200 300 max)? But if yall advice it i rather do that. Or if yall think its something else please let me know. Thank yall on advance, any advice helps!

·
Registered
555 Posts
If you put a hand on the kick start lever, can you feel it vibrating with that noise? That sounds like the toothed gear hasn’t fully disengaged and is whirring against the lever, to me. Same idea as if you put pressure on the kick starter while the bike is running.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
When i bought the bike it came with the end broken you could probably see it in thr video. I actually already have a replacement. I was going to replace it yesterday, but it looks like i have to take the engine apart to just to get to it. Do i need to buy any gaskets or special tools to get to it?

Also is it safe to drive like this? Will i do any major damage?

·
Registered