Honda Twins banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello there,

Apologies in advance as I realize there are a lot of posts regarding leaks on older CB's. However I am relatively new to biking and want to make sure I'm getting the correct parts! A lot of the older posts links for photo's/parts are dead.

I have a leak coming from the left crank case and after some research I'm fairly confident it's the shifter oil seal and/or the seal on my clutch lift rod. Photo's below are of when I first removed the left rear crank cover.

Parked for 5 minutes after a 15 minute ride......

Oil Leak.jpg

Left Rear Crank Cover removed (You can see how filthy it is in there)

Left Crank FULL DIRTY.jpg

Up close

Left Crank ZOOM DIRTY.jpg

After cleaning I believe I need to replace the Clutch Lift Rod Seal

InkedClutch Rod Seal CLEAN_EDIT.jpg

As well as the Shifter Oil Seal

InkedShift Seal CLEAN_EDIT.jpg

Now for my questions :D

1. Can anyone confirm the names/part number to these seals?
2. Can anyone confirm where to order these?

I have had trouble getting an exact name or part number and want to make sure I'm ordering the correct replacement pieces.

Any pointers/advice/comments are greatly appreciated!

*** If this is posted in the wrong place please let me know and I will remove it ***

John

·
Registered
13,085 Posts
...as I realize there are a lot of posts regarding leaks on older CB's
First - great that you put the bike model in your subject line, that's always both helpful and necessary to answer questions. But, realize that there are many different "CBs" in Honda's lineup from those days, so a blanket term about "CBs" is only relevant to which CB we're talking about - and many models, whether CB or CL (and those were usually so close to the same that all the engine parts were often, if not always, identical) all had similar leaks for the same reasons. Just FYI for the future.