Honda Twins banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy, folks. I'm new to this bike and these carburetors, so I'm hoping one of you can help me. Here are the particulars for my 1973 CL175:

• The primary issue is that the bike idles briefly then stalls.
  • If I hold the throttle so that engine runs at 2K RPM, it stays running; if I let go of the throttle, the speed decreases gradually until it chugs, then stalls.
  • Bike runs fine when engine is above 2K RPM; engine chugs (almost like it's missing) below 2K RPM.
  • Spark plugs are dark and a bit sooty.
  • Idle mixture screws are at 1 1/4 turns (I have experimented with them at 7/8 and 1 turn as well), but I can't get the engine to idle reliably or long enough to know whether changing the mixture with these screws does anything for the idle.
  • Needle clip is at 4th groove from the top.
  • Jets are stock sizes.
  • Idle speed screw (the one that adjusts the speed, not the mixture screw) does absolutely nothing. Turning the screw in, turning the screw out, makes no change to the idle speed at all.

And some other details:
  • Timing is correct.
  • Cam chain is adjusted.
  • Tappets are correctly adjusted.
  • Carbs were
ultrasonically cleaned (4 cycles, with heat) today and reassembled. This did not improve things one lick.

Anyone care to offer some suggestions?

·
66Sprint
26,297 Posts
Are the slides in the correct carbs?......Phone to discuss....

And Mike won the race to answer by seconds.....LOL.....;):lol::lol::lol:

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Sloped/cutout bottom of slide faces airbox, right? Which then positions the sloping side groove against the idle speed adjustment screw?