Honda Twins banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, yet another noob here to gain the knowledge from all those willing to give it. PLEASE...!! Help! I am at my minds end. I am trying to restore/convert my fathers 72 Cl350 (it has 1900 miles on it and has not run since 73). I was hoping to make it into a nice cafe racer but I can not even it out of the garage. I have replaced the piston rings, had new valves installed and replaced all the older rusty parts on the carbs with nicer clean ones. my problem so far is in the engine (top half) assembly. I rotate the engine so that the LT marker matches the timing mark (like clymers tells me to), which also makes the pin on the cam rod point up, and also the cam sproket has it's L pointing up as well. Ok, so when I try to do my points gap and engine timing I am killing myself trying to get the left point to open when I turn the engine around to the LF marker on the comprssion stroke. It seems to be opening too early and I just can't seem to get it. All the car guys I've talked to (just because I don't know many bike guys) seem to think I am 180 out. But, how do I fix that, man I am just really confused. Anyone willing to tackle this question will forever be my Hero. Thanks, for any input in advance and also thanks for having me. I'll put up a before and as it stands today pic thanks again.
:D

Attachments

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, I have found that section which was a very big help. My fear is that I think I might have assembled the advance 180 since it seems to open when I want it closed and opens when it should close. So.. I guess I'll just keep rotating the sleeve until it appears to align right. Should the timing be this hard or is it just me??? Geezzz. Thanks, for the reply so soon. :mrgreen:

·
Registered
6,495 Posts
R_O_M173 said: