Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
This is my first build so I thought I would start documenting my progress. Up to date I have rebuilt carbs , added new points , adjusted can chain tensioner, adjusted valves and set timing. The gas tank was full of rust so I used apple cider vinegar and bb’s to clean then poured distilled water in it to neutralize. The bike runs ok but not great yet. I decided to start the cosmetic work to make it look cafe. Attached are some. Pictures of the bike as it sits.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
I also have all the original parts I will be looking to sell for some spending money to finish this thing. Front fender, rear fender, air cleaner covers complete with rod and nuts, rear tail lamp assembly, battery box, front head light, blinkers (all 4), handlebars,and so on.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I didn’t start this blog early enough so here is a picture of the cb350 I started with.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Here is a picture of the carbs right after cleaning and rebuilding. I wish I would have taken pictures of the gas tank in the inside before cleaning it. Man what a job that is.

·
Registered
725 Posts
I find cleaning tanks the worst, most frustrating job to do on old bikes. I'd rather clean grease off an old Cat.

Make sure you allow enough clearance between tire and seat pan for the wheel travel.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I find cleaning tanks the worst, most frustrating job to do on old bikes. I'd rather clean grease off an old Cat.
I have to agree with you

Make sure you allow enough clearance between tire and seat pan for the wheel travel.
I plan to measure that next time I get opportunity to work on the bike.

·
Registered
3,133 Posts