Honda Twins banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. I have a question about the floats in my carbs. I've had problems with my bike "marking its territory" lately. There has been gas coming out of the bottom of my carbs. First was the right side and now the left. Both times I was able to eventually get the floats unstuck by bouncing the back of the bike. Here's my question: Can the floats be replaced or would it be better to rebuild the carbs? I've talked to a few people and they have told me that this is a common problem with these older bikes. I'm relatively new to working on bikes so any information is really appreciated.

·
Registered
3,926 Posts
It's probably not the floats "sticking" If anything is sticking it would be the float needle valves. Did you leave your petcock turned on? That's usually a no-no with these old bikes, as it makes it too easy for fuel to get into the crankcase if you have worn float needle valves or misadjusted floats. Start by verifying that your petcock doesn't leak when shut off. Put the fuel lines into a bottle (so the fuel doesn't evaporate) with the petcock turned OFF overnight. Any leak?

Then remove the carbs, and take out the pin holding the floats. Check the floats for pinholes or cracks. They can be very TINY. Submerging them may help check for leaks as well. The float needle valve is under the hinged end of the float. Check it's condition and replace if necessary. They're cheap insurance! If in doubt order new ones or post a picture here for evaluation. Basically all they have to do is shut off the fuel flow when the floats are raised. That can be "bench tested" with a fuel bottle hooked up to the carb.

Then re-install float needle valves and floats and check your float height. Search here for your proper float height settings. You can make a tool from an old credit card or plastic to measure/set the float height. All of the info is on here...