Honda Twins banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for some new tires for my 1972 CB175. The tire specs are listed as Front:2.75-18 and Rear:3.00-18 and I'm having a lot of trouble finding some good tires.

I'd like to keep the vintage look (see attached pic). And, that's where I'm running into problems. Can anyone give me (a complete newb) some general tire buying advice, maybe some URL's, for these old Hondas?

Thanks.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Well, after a long hard search, I'm finding that it's not easy finding tires for these smaller bikes is not easy.

The best I can find is a Michelin Gazelle. Which is actually a scooter/moped tire but, it has a pretty nice look, comes in a variety of smaller sizes, and is pretty common. They are pretty cheap, so that worries me a bit. But, I'm not going to be racing this bike, just in town, in traffic riding. Tops, I'll get the bike up to 55 - 60 mph on the highway.

·
Sensei
27,182 Posts
Moped/ and most scooter) tires are ONLY nominally acceptable for street use UNDER 45MPH......
There ARE more suitable, streetable tires available for your 175....
Try Dennis Kirk......
IRC NR 21 rear under $40....IRC NR53 front under $20... good to 93MPH

·
Premium Member
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ah, thanks 66Sprint. I didn't think much of the "moped" label on the Michelin Gazelles because they have a "P" speed rating. But, I would certainly rather spend a little more though for the IRC's though. You get what you pay for.

Thanks again for your help.

·
Sensei
27,182 Posts
Those IRC's are "P" rated as well...... Michelin is a quality name... It was the "moped' part that scared me....

·
Premium Member
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·