Honda Twins banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey thanks for the add!!! I just recently picked up a 1972 honda 350four. The electrical is all kinds of janky. The electrical start didn't work and the kick was broke off inside of the crank case. I replaced the kick shaft spindle and bought a new kick start lever the bike fired right up ( this was about a week ago) when I come home from work I'll fire her up ( no choke needed ) starts on the first kick and plunk around the neighborhood and put her up. She seems to be missing on one of the cylinder. Well today I decide to be adventuresome and tried to ride to my parents house ( about 10min away). She killed on me 4 time! I got her up to fifth and the rpms slowly crawl for 7 on down till she died... and it would take a miracle to get her started again. Ended up having to get the truck and trail and haul her home. Got home she fired right up. I'm fairly new to bikes I've been playing with them for about a year. Any help would be great any pointers. Rebuilding the carbs is my next step.

P.S. I forgot to shut the petcock valve off and lost about 1/2 a tank of gas all of the engine the night before riding. She still started up fine and road the neighborhood fine before going on to the parents. Thanks again for any starter pointers.

I know shes not much to look at right now

Attachments

·
Registered
756 Posts
These are great bikes, my favorite I think (and Soichiro Honda's too). FYI -- there is a SOHC/4 (single overhead cam, four cylinders, like your 350F) group: The SOHC/4 Owners Club. I'm over there with the same handle, and you'll find tons of info. I've had a dozen or more 350Fs over the years, including one I've owned for 20 years. Great bikes.