Honda Twins banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We purchased a 1971 Honda CL450 about 5 years ago with the intent of making it a cafe racer. With the enthusiasm of a kid on Christmas my wife started stripping the bike down. With everything removed from the frame the project took a little bit of a break... Five years later I have picked the project back up and I hope I stay on task a little better than we did last time.

The second round of restoration began with a complete tear down of the engine. The engine looks to have not had a single non-leaking seal on it. It is a mess.

My plan at this time is to only buy parts as I get to the stage where I need them. I have the motor completely tore down. Please forgive me if I call something by the wrong name. I am not a mechanic by trade.

Some issues I am running into are as follows: The cylinder sleeve has seemed to come out a little. I used snap gauges and a micrometer and my measurements are either consistently inconsistent or someone re-sleeved the cylinder head without having it bored out to the correct size. I checked my micrometer and it seems to be right on. My cylinders seem to be 5-7 thousandths under spec range. Some replacement parts are currently out of stock which makes my hunt more time consuming.

I am having a hard time deciding on going back with the stock look with upgraded parts such as electrical and suspension, or just go all out custom scrambler. The original chrome and painted parts are in relatively good shape, but a tank is impossible to find that isn’t dented or a fortune.

I am currently getting ready to take the case, heads and all those other outside engine parts to a media blaster to have them blasted. The intent is to paint them with duracoat, unless other, more attractive, suggestions come along. For now, here are some pics of the progress.

Attachments

·
Administrator
13,089 Posts