Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
BACKGROUND: I bought a '70 CL350 last month. Thank you Craigslist! I've been posting various questions on here and thought I'd better start a 'proper' thread. I'm here for the long-haul.

ME: 36 year old college professor. That means lots of time to ride in the summer, but not a ton of $ to spend on bikes. My other bike is a Yamaha FZ6, which I ride a lot (mostly on longer trips - jump on the bike, ride 1000 miles, stay two days, then blast home). I've done basic maintenance on the Yamaha and on my previous bike (a Honda Shadow), although I have NO experience with vintage bikes beyond what I've been learning on here and from the service manual. I have no background experience with anything mechanical or electrical for that matter.

BIKE HISTORY: I bought the bike from a young guy who got her last fall (in Michigan). He had a ton of bikes in his garage, so I'm a bit concerned he unloaded her for some reason I have yet to discover. He seemed like a nice enough guy (loaned me a compression gauge anyway), so I took a gamble and brought her home. Apparently the bike was used by a college student in the late 80s/early 90s and then sat almost unused for about 10-15 years. The previous owner got her running, but it looks like he didn't finish the job (he claims he did a carb/petcock rebuild and coated the tank, which is consistent with what it looks like - he almost certainly got the carbs wrong.....more on that soon). The bike was registered in 1971 in Florida (sticker on the steering stem shows this) and under the seat there's a sticker showing she was maintained at a dealer in Florida for at least the first few years of life. Good sign I guess. She came with a clean title.