Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to these bikes and have the opportunity to buy a 1967 CL90. What are some major things to look for before buying? Are parts easily found? It's going to need a new seat cover and foam. What is original on the bike and what is not? What parts are missing? Thanks

Attachments

·
Registered
1,576 Posts
One of the things to look for if its a running bike is the "auto " clutch. These bikes are abused and a heavy foot can damage the clutch parts. I seen some that were shifted so hard that the snap ring on the bottom of the clutch was driven from the groove. Parts are out there but I waited 2 months for an exhaust valve for one rebuild. Some of the clutch parts are no longer available so if its damaged it may take some time

find a used part for them. But if its cheep enough and worth the wait for parts go for it.

just some thoughts.

Bill

·
Registered
13,085 Posts
I'm new to these bikes and have the opportunity to buy a 1967 CL90. What are some major things to look for before buying? Are parts easily found? It's going to need a new seat cover and foam. What is original on the bike and what is not? What parts are missing? Thanks
Welcome - I used to have one of these when I was 14. As memory serves, it's missing the chain guard (and obviously, the taillight as well), mud flap for the rear fender and the front fender looks like it came from a CT90. Also, the gas tank looks like maybe a CL125A. Centerstand looks bent backwards, likely from people putting it up on the stand with too much force, possibly bending the stand or the stop. Here's a pic of the CL125A showing the tank

cl125a.jpg

mine from back in the day

1965 S-90.jpg

Go here to look at the proper parts for that model

https://www.cmsnl.com/honda-cl90_model1038/partslist/