Honda Twins banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm a newb to this forum. Also a newb to just about anything mechanical. I'm a computer programmer by trade, and have inherited my Dad's CA95 that hasn't been started in 20+ years. So, I'm guessing I'll be a bit slow getting this bike in running condition, but looking forward to working on something with no cpu's in it!

Before I get into looking at the carburetor, batteries, etc, my first order of business is to get someone making a key, as it was lost years ago. The key code is an 'NA' code. "Someone" told me NA code are notoriously unreliable, and I'd need to take the key lock unit out to to get keyed. Assuming that's a true statement, I don't see a logical way this key switch comes out? Anyone have experience with this? Thx

IMG_2101.jpg

IMG_2081.jpg

·
Registered
1,615 Posts
If there is a number on the front of the switch where the key is inserted there are a couple of sites on ebay that can make keys from that number. First order of business would be finding a full service manual.

If you are "new" read thru the manual before starting any thing. There is a lot of help on this site so ask away.

Bill

·
Registered
583 Posts
The switch should have an outer chrome ring on it that unscrews to allow you to remove the switch from the inside of the shell.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Welcome to the forum.

Realy nice old bike!
Thanks! Thanks to the member tips, the key switch is off to get keyed. Now, onto removing the gas tank, which looks great from the outside, but oh the inside after sitting for 20+ years! :eek:

·
Registered
171 Posts
Hi Grady- nice bike. If you are missing the side covers I sell those in plastic. Asian spec so they have badge mounting holes in them. $25 pair plus ship.