Honda Twins banner
1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, here’s the back story. My dad purchased this bike new in 1970. He blew one motor in Canada riding across country from Vermont to Colorado. In ‘79 he picked up a new bike and this one was left to rust. The engine seized at some point and a new one was procured but not all the parts were there.

This is when we got it.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
The motor is a K7 model and was an unknown quantity so I decided to completely tear it apart and rebuild it. I’ve never done it before, and though, how hard can it be?!

You can see all the missing parts (clutch, stator, covers, oil pump, etc.)

Got everything taken down.

Cleaned everything up, with the help of my son.
Checked all the tolerances and specs agains the shop manual to make sure everything was ok. Thankfully everything inside looked great!

Got it all reassembled! I don’t know that I could have done this without the great videos from the guys at Common Motor Collective. Highly recommended!

Attachments

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Main things we are missing are the starter, seat, and air filters/boxes. I picked up one Mikuni VM32 carb (waiting to find a good deal in the second) so we will upgrade the carbs. Thinking about doing airpods and more of a cafe racer look. Nothing drastic, likely straight bars, new seat, and lower profile tail light, turn signals, and mirrors.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Decided to go kickstart only. We are going to have to completely redo to wiring so this should make things a little simpler, save the cost of a starter and larger battery, and drop a little weight (not a big concern). Plus I know I won’t be riding regularly and this way I won’t have to hassle with charging/replacing the battery.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·