Like Tree5Likes
  • 2 Post By Polish
  • 1 Post By ancientdad
  • 1 Post By 80cb400t
  • 1 Post By drydreamer

Thread: Bike seems to "grab" or "let go" at very low speeds

Bike seems to "grab" or "let go" at very low speeds

Hello all,
    I should preface with saying I'm a beginner rider, so this could very well be a riding skill issue. I want to describe an issue I noticed about my new-to-me 1980 Honda CM400T and see if it's normal or an indication of something that needs adjusting. Guy I bought it from seemed to really know what he was doing, and was/is very willing to help diagnose or even fix mechanical issues as they arise, so that's good.

I notice this issue really in any gear, but it's most noticeable in 1st when riding in slow-moving traffic at ~5mph. While the clutch is fully out, I can move through stop-and-go traffic comfortably by rolling the throttle ever so slightly on or off. Problem is there's definitely a threshold when the bike seems to "grab" (gain a little acceleration quickly and get a little louder) or "let go" (lose a little acceleration quickly). This happens even with careful gentle use of the throttle. There's like a cutoff point on the throttle where this happens, and it's a lot more noticeable at low speeds.

Note: This isn't when letting off the clutch, so I don't believe this is an issue with letting that out too fast. The clutch is fully out while this is happening.
    Note: This also isn't only in first gear. It just tends to be the most dramatic in first gear when riding very slow.

Any ideas why this could be happening?

I would say this is normal. Mine or me does that sometimes. My opinion it is a combination of the slack you have in the throttle, fuel going in and gear ratio. We should use a combination of throttle and clutch, like doing the box in another post they were explaining or when doing tight turn. Because it wants to leap forward.
    ktrilli and ancientdad like this.
    JL
    1979 CB 400 T (Cafe Racer)