Trying to get my 1982 cb450sc started

Trying to get my 1982 cb450sc started

Hi everyone! I'm new to the forum so please forgive me as I'm still learning the ropes. I was hoping someone could lend me some advice in trying to get my bike started. When I press the ignition button my solenoid clicks, but the engine does not roll over. I tried replacing the starter motor, as the old one did not work on or off the bike, and I can feel the starter moving slightly now, but I can't figure out what's up with it, as it's still just a solenoid click with no ignition. I was thinking my next move would be to replace the solenoid, but honestly I'm pretty inexperienced as this is my first project. Help would be greatly appreciated, thank you!

Can you turn the engine over manually (wrench/socket on alternator rotor bolt at end of crankshaft)? BUT, LEAVE KEY TURNED OFF......

Will be easier if you temporarily remove spark-plugs......
    Last edited by 66Sprint; 05-17-2019 at 11:14 PM.
    "I have a mind like a steel trap.....Old and rusty, of antiquated design, and hard to get stuff back out of...."
    Contact info: E-mail; [email protected] Phone; 540-525-5199

I'll try it today! I'll let you know, thank you

4. Remove Advertisements
    HondaTwins.net
    Advertisements

If you thing it's seize, pour a little bit of oil/penatring oil through the spark plug holes and let it soak a few days. Don't force it!
    JL
    1979 CB 400 T (Cafe Racer)

Quote Originally Posted by Polish View Post
    If you thing it's seize, pour a little bit of oil/penatring oil through the spark plug holes and let it soak a few days. Don't force it!
    I'll try that too! How would I know if it's seized?